This is information about the uncontested divorce process. If you want to see a list of all the steps, please see them here [link].
The divorce process begins with the drafting and filing of a Petition.
You must wait at least 10 days before the judge can grant the divorce. If you have children, you may have to wait up to 90 days.
If you have children, you and your spouse will have to take a court approved parenting class and provide proof to the court. The judge will not grant your divorce unless both of you have filed proof of completion of the parenting class with the court.
The responding party must sign a document called an Entry of Appearance and Waiver. This authorizes the filing party to present an agreed Divorce Decree to the judge.
The Decree is the document that contains all the details about the parties’ divorce agreement. It is the document that the judge signs and it becomes an order of the court. It is important this it is drafted the right way and follows all the requirements set down by the law.
Oklahoma law requires that at least one of the parties appears before the court at a brief hearing.
After the judge has signed the Decree it is filed with the court clerk and the divorce is complete. The only prohibition under Oklahoma law is that you are not allowed to marry anyone else except your spouse for a period of six (6) months from the date of the signature of the Decree.